About Us

   Wellington Cantonment Board is an autonomous body under the administration of Government of India, Ministry of Defence and discharges obligatory and discretionary functions as per the provisions of Cantonment Act, 2006 such as Education, Public Health, Sanitation, Roads, Street Lighting, Water Supply and Birth and Death registration. For the purpose of administration and civil representation, the Cantonment is divided into seven wards. There are various other rules such as the CBAR-2020, Cantonment Fund Servant Rules 1937, Cantonment Land Administration Rules, 1937 and Cantonment Property Rules which apply apart from the Cantonments Act, 2006.

    The Cantonment Board consists of seven elected Members, two nominated Military Members, three Ex-officio Members (Station Commander, Garrison Engineer and Health Officer), one representative of the District Magistrate. An officer of the Indian Defence Estates Services which is a central civil service is posted as the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) as well as the member secretary of the Board. The Board is headed by the President Cantonment Board (PCB) who is the Station Commander and also presides over the meetings of the Cantonment Board. The term of the Elected Members is typically 5 years. The Vice President is nominated from amongst the elected members by them. The MP & MLA representing part/whole of Cantonment area are special invitees to the meetings of the Board without voting rights.

    The various departments of Wellington Cantonment Board namely Accounts, Revenue, Public Works, Education, Health and Sanitation collectively operate to strengthen the civic infrastructure of the Cantonment.

  • Year of Establishment 1853
  • Classification Class-II
  • Total Area 1647.65 Acres
  • Civil Population(as per census 2011) 12673
  • Military Population(as per census 2011) 6789